February Gardening

What a lovely day it is for going out in the garden! I didn’t check the weather and chose rainy yesterday to pay a visit to the garden I look after. Not surprisingly, I only lasted a couple of hours before I was was soaked through and the ground was so muddy that I was making more mess than doing good! Today would’ve been the wiser choise. Either way, I have been outside in the sunshine today and noticed lots of signs that spring is on the way.

I have a little patch of Bergenia Elephant’s Ears in my garden, and I was pleased to find that they’ve got a few lovely bright pink buds nestled in their foliage so it won’t be long until they’re flowering. I think they’re such great plants; they flower early, are happy in shade, they flower every year, the foliage is evergreen and they’re easy to grow. Any plant that can offer that many benefits with virtually zero maintenance is a winner in my book.

Snowdrops are flowering and there are lots of others just starting to peep through. I identified some as Tulips and Daffodils, although I find it’s sometimes hard to tell when you weren’t there to see what they were the year before. I saw a Lilac with leaf buds that look like they’re just about to burst too.

I also noticed something interesting that I didn’t know and I’m going to look into it in further detail at some point. One of my neighbours has a yellow-berried variety of Pyracantha that’s still absolutely covered in berries. Whereas the red-berried Pyracantha outside my house has been completely stripped bare by birds (not that I mind, I was happy to provide berries for the birds while it was snowy). Do the birds not like yellow berries? If not, is it a good idea to choose a yellow-berried variety over a red? I’d never thought of that before.

Otherwise, in the the large farm-house garden I look after and visit once every two weeks, February is what I think of as ‘the calm before the storm’. It’s the last chance to go out and think “there’s not much to do” before everything starts growing incredibly quickly and you suddenly have way to much to do.

But, there were a few bits and bobs that I got round to doing after meaning to for months. I cut back a very overgrown climbing Jasmine. I must have not got around to it last year because it was taking over the pergola it was growing on. I think that job should’ve really been done last autumn just after it had finished flowering but at the time I was too occupied by the leaves that had dropped everywhere.

I tidied up some Stachys (Lamb’s Ear) too. I had already cut them back in the winter, but they had hung onto a few leaves that had gone all grey and dead. Picking the dead leaves out was fiddly so I switched to a soft plastic rake and raked right through them, which seemed to tidy them up nicely (and quickly!).

I forked over the gaps in the herbaceous beds to soften the soil up. After it’s been sitting dormant and bare over winter it starts to look tatty and you can see where it’s uneven. Give the ground a light going-over with a border fork and it completely refreshes it!

About garden nomey

I studied Horticulture at Writtle College in Essex back in the early noughties – it was good fun and a great place to learn, and since then I’ve had various lovely jobs. I started working as a gardener at Trinity College in Cambridge, which is the biggest of Cambridge University’s colleges. That was the best gardening job I’ve ever had, the gardeners were talented and knowledgeable (and fun!), the college was relaxed and the grounds are extensive and beautiful. There are amazing gardens locked behind ‘secret garden’ doorways in ancient walls, huge perennial borders to tend to, massive hedges to trim (one is 30ft high) and lawns to mow with precision. It was the perfect place for me, as a new gardener, to gain all the experience I might need to see me off into a career in horticulture. I went on to do various other gardening jobs for a few more years, before deciding that I would like to write about plants. Just as I was wondering how on earth I might get into this (as I was only trained in horticulture), I stumbled upon a Marketing Assistant job with an online and catalogue plant supplier, and they kindly took me in. This was my dream job at the time and I felt so lucky, I spent every day writing plant copy and gaining experience and knowledge in marketing and website management – something I’d never even thought about doing in the past. As it turned out, I loved it! Since then I’ve worked for more online plant suppliers, plus magazines including Which? Gardening Magazine and BBC Gardeners’ World Magazine. I currently work as freelance gardener and garden writer and I’m also a full member of the Garden Media Guild. Every single one of my jobs has taught me so much and I think I’ve found my niche – I’m a Gardener, Copy Writer, Garden Marketer, Feature Writer and Online Content Manager! I’ve been involved in this industry for a good while now. I’ve been to a lot of press shows, I work and have worked with a lot of suppliers and I constantly see people I know in magazines and at gardening events. I really feel like I’m part of this lovely, friendly industry, from both the plant supplier’s and the media’s side, and that makes me very happy.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to February Gardening

  1. Dad says:

    I’m really pleased you are running this blog. Your knoewledge and enthusiasm for the subject is clear. Makes me a proud Dad to point people this way

  2. Sarah Jones says:

    I like the idea of raking out dead leaves from the branches!. It will be interesting to find out if birds don’t like yellow berries. Our crab apple tree has been stripped bare in the last ten days – blackbirds have had a feast!

    • gardennomey says:

      I’ve searched long and hard and can’t find anything that says birds don’t like yellow berries! In fact, I found one website that recommended the yellow-berried Pyracantha as a good one for birds. Maybe the birds just prefer red ones and haven’t eaten the yellow ones yet. Maybe they can’t see the yellow ones very easily? Either way, they’re nice plants and they provide all sorts of benefits for wildlife. They’re great for pollinators, producing lots of little white flowers that insects and bees love, and they provide a sheltered place for birds to nest too.

      I’m not surprised about your crab apple tree – Blackbirds seem to love apples. It’s good to have apple trees in your garden, their blossom great for pollinators too!

  3. planthoarder says:

    I have heard that birds take longer to realize the yellow berries are ripe and good to eat. That’s why some people grow yellow strawberries and yellow cherries, so they can have them all to themselves. Of course, once the birds learn better….

Leave a comment