Gardeners in time

A great blog post from my old boss here.

Dennis – Trinity won’t be the same without you. Every posh gardens needs a long haired, heavily tatooed metal head looking after them. Lovely to read a bit from good old John Page too. It’s brought back lots of happy memories! All the best to you Xx

thetattooedgardener

As my time at Trinity draws to a close, I have been reminiscing about my horticulture career and my journey to the dizzy heights of Head Gardener at Trinity College. Especially remembering how difficult it was at the beginning.

I have now written a couple of posts about how difficult it is for people entering and working in the world of horticulture. The first post I wrote on this subject  was about my own problems I faced in the eighties, the second being about the problems many are facing in more recent times. So, I thought it would be interesting to see how things were for people starting out in horticulture before the eighties.

I started working at Trinity as an Under Gardener in May 2000, where I met a gentleman called John page, who had worked in the gardens dept since 1984; John still works in the gardens to…

View original post 671 more words

About gardennomey

I'm a Writtle-trained horticulturist who has worked as a full-time gardener, then moved on to marketing plants online for various well-known suppliers and producing content for two of the best gardening magazines in the country. I've been lucky with my career. A while ago I decided that full-time gardening wasn't as enjoyable as I imagined and, seeing as that's the only thing I'm really trained in, that seemed like quite a waste. I was determined to get into garden writing in one way or another. Then I stumbled accross a 'Marketing Assistant' job for Gardening Direct, which, thankfully, they offered me. It's amazing how a career can progress and be turned from something you're not sure you like, into your dream job. As the go-to gardening expert at Gardening Direct, I had a great time being in charge of all the garden copy-writing at the same time as gaining experience and knowledge in marketing and website management. From there, I moved on to work for more garden suppliers, Which? Gardening Magazine and gardenersworld.com. I think I have found my niche... it's a weird set of skills, but I am happy with it! Thanks for reading :-) Naomi
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

