Chamomile and mint tea

image

Last summer we decided to try growing our own chamomile tea from seed. How easy was it? Very!

With Christmas looming, the garden may be the least of many people’s priorities, but I remember it was this time last year that we bought in our seeds to start off in the New Year (they make great Christmas presents).

Chamomile is very easy to grow outdoors by scattering onto prepared soil. We sowed ours direct into a pot in March, and by June the chamomile was flowering beautifully.

We harvested the flowers by snipping them from the plants whenever there was a sufficient amount, and left them to dry on kitchen towel for a few weeks. Chamomile will continue to produce flowers up until September with regular harvesting. We also harvested mint and lemon balm, so we could create tea  mixes, and dried them the same way.

Once the harvest was dried we put them into jars and left the lid off for a further month to make sure there was definitely no moisture left.

Since then, the flavour has been maturing within the jar. I popped it open the other day and the smell of chamomile was really intense – perfect for infusing.

This tea can be used with a tea strainer, or you can put it into drawstring teabags. We were going to give homemade chamomile tea as gifts for Christmas but I don’t think we grew enough in the end. One 2 litre potful grew enough for this small jar. Maybe we’ll keep this for us and aim to grow more next year!

About gardennomey

I'm a Writtle-trained horticulturist who has worked as a full-time gardener, then moved on to marketing plants online for various well-known suppliers and producing content for two of the best gardening magazines in the country. I've been lucky with my career. A while ago I decided that full-time gardening wasn't as enjoyable as I imagined and, seeing as that's the only thing I'm really trained in, that seemed like quite a waste. I was determined to get into garden writing in one way or another. Then I stumbled accross a 'Marketing Assistant' job for Gardening Direct, which, thankfully, they offered me. It's amazing how a career can progress and be turned from something you're not sure you like, into your dream job. As the go-to gardening expert at Gardening Direct, I had a great time being in charge of all the garden copy-writing at the same time as gaining experience and knowledge in marketing and website management. From there, I moved on to work for more garden suppliers, Which? Gardening Magazine and gardenersworld.com. I think I have found my niche... it's a weird set of skills, but I am happy with it! Thanks for reading :-) Naomi
This entry was posted in Gardening, Natural remedies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

